Lok Sabha / Rajya Sabha and Vidhan Sabha / Vidhan Parishad seats in India

The Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha together constitute the Indian parliment. The Rajya Sabha is the upper house of the Parliament of India with members having a term of Six years while the Lok Sabha members are directly elected by the people of India for a five year term. To become a member of the Parliment, a person must be a citizen of India, not less than 25 years of age.

Loksabha election results

The Vidhan Sabhas also known as Legislative Assemblies are the lower houses of the provincial legislature in the different states of India. Each Vidhan Sabha is formed for a five year term after which all seats are up for election. To become a member of a Vidhan Sabha, a person must be a citizen of India, not less than 25 years of age. The Vidhan Parishad also known as Legislative Council are the upper houses upper house in those states of India that have a bicameral legislature. Each Member of the Legislative Council (MLC) serves for a six-year term, with terms staggered so that the terms of one-third of a Council's members expire every two years.
news NRIOL 25years Celebration

NRIOL.COM, the premier online community since 1997 for the Indian immigrant community provides a range of resourceful services for immigrants and visitors in America.

Contact our customer service team

Estd. 1997 © Copyright NRI Online Pvt. Ltd. All rights reserved worldwide.

India Statistics